Date: 12th June 2018 at 4:39pm
Written by:

For the second season running, the draw for the League Cup, currently known as the Carabao Cup, will take place eight thousand miles away!

This time, the draw for the first round will take place in Vietnam’s largest city, Ho Chi Minh City on Friday [15th June] at 10:45 am UK time.

The competition this coming season will have a few small changes, namely:

  • EFL clubs have voted to remove extra time from every round, apart from the Final, from the start of the 2018/19 season, with matches tied at 90 minutes going straight to a penalty shoot-out. The 2019 Final will feature extra time and penalties if required.
  • The format of penalties will revert to the traditional format, as opposed to the recently trialled ABBA formula, which will no longer feature in EFL competitions.
  • VAR will again be utilised in the competition and can be incorporated for all games that are played at Premier League stadiums.
  • This season’s Final will take place on Sunday 24 February 2019 with the winners guaranteed a place in the Europa League in the following campaign.

See our draw numbers: Here

You can read all the official blurb from the EFL and representatives from Carabao HERE.

Last season, Posh lost at home in the first round against Barnet! Both sides shared a goal each inside the first half an hour but after that, it was the Bees who went on to score two further goals without reply. Their third goal was scored by former Posh striker Shaq Coulthirst.

Let’s hope we can go on a better run this time around.