Date: 14th March 2012 at 8:12pm
Written by:

Peterborough United’s new million pound signing Tyrone Barnett has just missed out on the League Two Player of the Year Award.

Barnett came second behind Swindon Towns Matt Ritchie while two of his former Crawley team mates also made the top 10. They were Matt Tubbs, who is now on loan at League One team Bournemouth, and Kyle McFadzean, who Posh were interested in in the recent transfer window.

Chosen by the respective division’s managers, the Top 10 players in each division of the npower Football League were announced following Sunday’s Football League Awards. Managers from the npower Championship, npower League 1 and npower League 2 were asked to name the best five players in their division (excluding those at their own club).

Rickie Lambert from Southampton picked up the npower Championship award, Jordan Rhodes of Huddersfield Town won the npower League 1 award and Swindons Matt Ritchie collected the npower League 2 award.

The final tables are as follows:

npower Championship:

1. Rickie Lambert – Southampton
2. Peter Whittingham – Cardiff City
3. Adam Lallana – Southampton
4. Jay Rodriguez – Burnley
5. James Tomkins – West Ham United
6. Kevin Nolan – West Ham United
7. Kevin Phillips – Blackpool
8. Rhys Williams – Middlesbrough
9. Wilfried Zaha – Crystal Palace
10. Chris Burke – Birmingham City

npower League 1:

1. Jordan Rhodes – Huddersfield Town
2. Johnnie Jackson – Charlton Athletic
3. Ched Evans – Sheffield United
4. Stephen Quinn – Sheffield United
5. Bradley Wright-Phillips – Charlton Athletic
6. Marc Pugh – AFC Bournemouth
7. Gary Roberts – Huddersfield Town
8. Darren Potter – Milton Keynes Dons
9. Steven Gleeson – Milton Keynes Dons
10. Luke Chadwick – Milton Keynes Dons

npower League 2:

1. Matt Ritchie – Swindon Town
2. Tyrone Barnett – Crawley Town (on loan at Peterborough United)
3. Marlon Pack – Cheltenham Town
4. Izale McLeod – Barnet
5. Eunan O’Kane – Torquay United
6. Kyle McFadzean – Crawley Town
7. Ryan Hall – Southend United
8. Paul Caddis – Swindon Town
9. Billy Kee – Burton Albion
10. Matt Tubbs – Crawley Town (now AFC Bournemouth)

twitter Follow me on Twitter: @mwl1967


Your Comment